African Day of Standardisation (ADS) and Opening Ceremony of the 29th General Assembly on 5th to 7th July 2023

All Invited Delegates and Members


Opening Ceremony of the 29th General Assembly Events

Time – 0800 HRS to 1030 HRS

One and Half Hours Event Master of Ceremony – OCC Official

Welcoming Remarks – M. Dr. Etienne TSHIMANGA MUTOMBO, Directeur Général OCC
(ii) Welcoming Remarks – Dr. Hermogene Nsengimana, ARSO Secretary General.
(iii) Key Note Address – by Prof. Alex Dodoo – President, ARSO.
(iv) Key note address by – Honourable Guest of Honours (African Union, AfCFTA Secretariat, AUDA-NEPAD, ITC, UNECA)
(v) Key Note Address – DR Congo Minister for Trade and Industry
(vi) Official Opening Address – Higher Government Official, DR Congo.
(vii) ARSO-ISO MoU signing Ceremony.

African Day of Standardisation (ADS)

Time – 1100 HRS to 1700 HRS EAT

Organised in Four Sessions with Moderators and Discussants

  • Session 1 – Standards harmonisation activities – Textile and Leather, Pharmaceuticals, Automotive, Packaging in the food industry.
  • Session 2 – Conformity Assessment – Role of VSS (EMA), MRA and Dual Marking.
  • Session 3 – Made in Africa qualification criteria – Role of MiA in Accelerating the implementation of AfCFTA
  • Session 4 – Aligning National Quality Policy to African Quality Policy- Role of institutional framework- Regulators vs standard bodies.